the icing between the cake


"Catching Fire"
Suzanne Collins
Scholastic
Ya Fiction 


This is the second novel in the Hunger Games Trilogy. If you haven't read or are currently the first novel beware that everything you are about to read is a spoiler. Everything.



I read this book in 6 hours. Just sat there. And read. And yeeaaah I may have been a bit pressured into it because one of my good friends wanted so badly to read it. Even though they wont admit to it. You know, it's funny because I gave them the first book and they tried to play it down. "It was ohhkkkaayy. Nothing too great....now where is the second one?" haha. And the excuse for craving the Games?  "I can't start a story and not finish." Now I might have believed this, but the constant nagging confirmed their love for the novel and i felt a supreme flow of satisfaction flow through me. I recommended a book to someone and it worked:) One down, millions to go. So my day off turned into a reading purge. 
because this is the second book I'm going to skip the legit summaries. There are no real summaries in a series. Just a story that keeps going. Until it stops. But we don't like to talk about that. 




My.Mind.Was.Boggled.


I was stuck in Panem for about three days. Maybe more, I can't remember. "Mockingjay" still has me there. I love when a book can do this to you. Put you somewhere else for a little bit. Most days I hop the bus to work and just disappear into my books for the remainder of the ride. 


PART I  The Spark
"Hello Katniss Everdeen. You have won the 74th Hunger Games. And now you are about to go on a victory tour with your "beloved' Peeta Mellark, who really isn't your lover. Or at least you think he's not. We know, it's "complicated" Is Haymitch still drunk? And speaking of Peeta and Haymitch, aren't you all neighbors now in the Victors' Village? How is that working out for you? The only three occupants. And how does your COUSIN Gale feel about all of this????"
 D4f2b798ce70c47c_312774_322339137782744_159746560708670_1582957_1538557357_n.xxxlarge_0_large

So here are the things I loved:
-It's winter. I love winter. All the snow and the cold and keeping each other warm winters. Makes for a great book. 

-the president of Panem, Snow. He is smart. Very Sly. All the great Villains are. But It does make things harder. although, it makes for a way better plot:)

-The star crossed lovers sleeping arrangement on the train. Katniss couldn't sleep without Peeta. And he was there every night. 

-The District 8 speech. Not the good part either. That man getting shot in the head on stage let me know things were about to go down and I wanted to know be there when it happened. 


- I was slightly disappointed in both boys. Gale, for not making an effort in winning Katniss over. It's not like it would have worked. He does try a little in the little house but, He should have  done more. But then you have think, where would that get Peeta. SOo we are forced to put Gale on the back burner and drool over the equally stubborn Peeta. Oh, I feel terribly bad for our boy with the bread. Katniss tells him something along the lines of "Okay the jokes over we can stop being in love. Oh. Wait. You thought we? Oh....." And there he goes. Closing himself up and giving Katniss her "personal space." Ugh Peeta, come on! That's you're lady! Go get her you silly little boy! 




Part II  The Quell 
"Its the time for the 3rd Quarter Quell! a glorious glorified version of the Games that comes along every twenty-five years! And this year the the male and female tributes will be reaped from the existing pool of victors. And since District 12 has only three winners....
Again in the arena? With Peeta or Haymitch??? Again in the Games. Again with the human hunting. Again with the fear. Well, there is no doubt in our minds that Snow hasn't dealt this card."


-More time with Peeta. <3
   -also, they are going crazy with this whole wedding thing. Oh, AND she's pregnant! Whatttt?? 


-I love how equally strong and weak Katniss is. After she hears she has to go back into the arena, she runs to Haymitch and they end up drinking their problems. And for a minute I saw Katniss becoming a womenized version of Haymatch. Growing old with age and filth, endlessly intoxicated. But shes scared. She giving her life for Peetas and I'd drink away my last few days too.


-Katniss's determination to side with any and all outcasts. I'd do the same.


-Finnick is a perv. I don't like him.


-WE FIGURE OUT WHY HAYMITCH WON! I knew he was worth something :)


-The tributes ceremony stunt where they all decide to hold hands. The uprising is indeed rising. :D


PART III  THE ENEMY 
"Let the 75th Hunger games begin!"

-By the time Katniss was in the arena I was pretty much like WHAT THE HECK is going on?? How did we get here again??  Collins your crazy! In an oh so very good way.

-Peeta's hurt AGAIN??? ughh come on!!! I kinda had some sort of hope that he would triumph in this book and be a hero. But then you say to yourself, what would that make Katniss? So we let Petta get electrocuted. 

-I still don't like Finnick Odair at this point. He's cocky and a supposed Sex God and what not. Yeah okay buddy. But he does save Peetas life. And that gives us something to investigate.

-I knew they were going to break them out of the arena. (Which can i say was a totally unfair Game for the Tributes. All those traps and the clock and all that. Shame on you Snow.) BUT WHY DID THEY FORGET PEETA.!! WHYYYYYY?????????? 

-Finnick, there you go being on the good guys side all along. Knowing more than we all did. Sneaky little Odair. 




The book ends at a horrible spot if you can't read the third right away. You're sitting there asking yourself if your copy is your copy missing a page. And WOAH does it get good. I always feel the middle book to be like the filling of a cake. Just there for extra taste. The third book blows the second into another galaxy. But that's a whole different review. Hope you enjoyed! 
Until then 

May the Odds Ever be in Your Favor.


No comments:

Post a Comment